Skip to content

A Face For Radio

August 5, 2012

Effective communication is absolutely vital, especially when it comes to charity work. Whether we are directly involved in the charity or simply supporters of it, we should recognise the importance of how we communicate our message.

I have been following GUCH PA for a number of years, as I have a congenital heart defect that can play havoc with my heart rhythm. And I have, like many GUCHs, attended hospital more than most people my age and this is how I came to be involved in hospital radio. I also had numerous people telling me I had a perfect face for radio!

It is up to us as GUCH patients to tell the rest of the world about our hopes and fears and to raise awareness of our charity. Hospital radio is a great way to communicate and it’s a natural fit to promote a healthcare-related topic..

Most hospital radio stations, which are run by volunteers on a charitable basis, are held in high regard in the community in which they serve. The potential audience of a hospital radio station varies depending on the location, the time of day, type of license held by the station and size of the hospital.

My station is Radio Grapevine in Livingston, Scotland. It serves a medium-sized hospital with a Coronary Care Unit so it’s a great communication tool. It also broadcasts via the internet, allowing our message to reach an even wider audience.

With the agreement of GUCH PA, I produced a Public Service Announcement (PSA) explaining the purpose and scope of GUCH PA, which now plays regularly on Radio Grapevine 24/7. Consequently, a huge range of people in my community can hear about the good work GUCH PA does for adults with congenital heart conditions. Many listeners may have heart conditions themselves so we not only promote ourselves within a healthcare environment but we may also gain some new supporters.

My goal is to develop the PSA to be played in hospital radio stations across the UK. This will likely take a combination of hard work, determination and a little bit of luck, but I’m used to it – I’m a GUCH.

Check out our Youtube channel to hear David’s Public Service Announcement:

One Comment leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    August 6, 2012 17:50

    Hi – the link doesn’t work, it goes to the GUCH PA video.

Leave a Reply

